Dual boot with Devuan Linux, patitioning, Grub2 bootloader

Hi there!
I show you my new “project” and would be very glad for every shred of advice… :slight_smile:
First: I’m completely new to Haiku. I was intrigued, downloaded a Nightly Build for x86_64 and it
just worked out of the box when using the live-cd!
So the computer I want to install Haiku to has the following layout:
There are two hds, the first one with an installation of Windows Vista (therefore NFTS-filesystem) and
also a installation of Grub2 in the MBR to start my main OS on the second hd: Devuan Linux.
I don’t need Vista any longer, my plan is to use the first harddisk for a fresh install of Haiku.
Point is: from what I read, it is recommended to do the partitioning BEFORE the actual installation
of Haiku. How would I do that??? Using Gparted, ok; but what patitions do I need for Haiku?
Also I don’t want to corrupt my Grub2 in the MBR of the first hd… :unamused: Any suggestions?
Thank you! :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Haiku only needs a single partition. Just use gparted to format it as FAT32, then when you install Haiku, reformat it to BFS.

Your grub2 should be left alone if you don’t install the Haiku bootmanager, but it is a topic that others have commented on. Just search for “grub” in this forum. Make sure you have another way to boot linux, just in case!

1 Like

Hello,

you can look at the besly.de.
There is a Tutorial for Grub2 in English and german.
http://besly.de/menu/search/archiv/sys/haiku_grub2_eng.html
http://besly.de/menu/search/archiv/sys/haiku_grub2_de.html

lorglas

1 Like

Hi @michel,
thank you for your information! I will post, when it´s done… :grin:

Thank you, @lorglas,
looks like a tutorial even I could follow… :relieved:
Greetings

Hi there,
It’s a old post but didnt see any clear answer and both links provided bt the otehr users are not avilable anymore.
Did you manager somehow to dual boot devuan & haiku?I’m actually trying the same with debian

cheers