Sound and wifi on Mac mini 2014?

Haiku newbie here. Has anyone had success getting sound and/or wifi working on Mac minis using recent nightlies?

I have a Macmini7,1 (2014), and Haiku works fine with the ethernet port. Following advice from other posts, I installed Open Sound via HaikuDepot and restarted, but no luck.

I only see the wired Ethernet jack listed in Network Preferences, not a wifi interface. It sounds like it’s expected that Apple wifi hardware might not be supported: Can't get wifi to work on MacBook Air - #2 by rjzak

But for the sound, any suggestions for things I can try? Thank you.

1 Like

I was able to get sound working from the headphone jack on a 2012 Macbook Pro. Were you trying internal speakers or audio jack?

You Wi-Fi probably won’t be supported unfortunately (BCM94360cs). I was told that Haiku used FreeBSD for some wi-fi drivers. No luck for my computer, but maybe you’ll have more luck. But since it’s a desktop use I imagine, if you don’t move it much Ethernet might be the way to go if possible. Or you can use a USB wi-fi solution.

Edit: I see you might have already found the answer for wi-fi support.

Try OpenSound, never tried on a Mini that recent but it somehow worked on an old MacBook.
bear in mind that your chipset is probably too recent and might not be supported by OSS.
You need to blacklist the intel audio driver first as explained here.

They have already tried this acording to the thread intro’s post.

Sorry, my bad. I overlooked that part

Were you trying internal speakers or audio jack?

Audio not working for either of 'em for me.

Edit: I see you might have already found the answer for wi-fi support.

What are you keying off of here? If you mean the post about wifi I linked to, I linked to it in the context of saying that as I understand it Apple wifi hardware is not supported (as you had said as well)

You need to blacklist the intel audio driver first as explained here .