Java & Python IDE packages

For people who don’t follow haikuports closely, here are two new packages: NetBeans IDE 8.2 and Intellij IDEA Community Edition 2018.3.

And good news: they both also run with the OpenJDK8 x86_64 port (still not in the depot, only haikuports recipe).

Thanks to @return_0e, a package for PyCharm Community 2018.3 is also available:

Enjoy!

26 Likes

I tried to build openjdk8 with haikuporter and got a checksum error on one of the downloaded packages:

Validating checksum of jtreg-4.2-b13.tar.gz
Error: Expected SHA-256: 441a6ef616aa372047aea2d155b46d187c447fe21afd7be0334d5a944948ed00
Error: Found SHA-256: af3b991845de306ffd271dede75294eb45164c8a6a86730142d53179bbf6d3c7

I deleted the download directory and tried again but got the same error.

wow nice to have I hope (I am not a developer) does it work without problems right now? Or is it still too early to use for production?
What about the quality?

Very nice to have some promotion in this field (software) since it is sometimes not obvious
what great software is available in HaikuDepot!

@BlueSky the package should be in HaikuDepot now.

1 Like

Ahh great. Thanks a lot.

Here, enjoying the screenshots a lot. Loving using pycharm where available, seems like a great addition.

Such good news! Will Pycharm be made available also on 64bit?

I forgot it, should be now available on x86_64 as well. As a side note, the hpkg doesn’t have a dependency on python or python3, do you think it should? Could you check what can be improved and report at HaikuPorts?

2 Likes

Even if it is “mandatory” to have one python interpreter on the system to code with PyCharm, you can manage your custom interpreter configuration application wide and/or per project within the IDE itself.

I mean you could add python2/3 as a dependency (i think every nightly / beta iso has python preinstalled, hasn’t it?) but “wont” be mandatory.

2 Likes

I have just installed the 64 bit and I got this window: