VisualStudio Code on Haiku

I’ve been watching the steady development progress on Haiku for some years now. I’m a professional developer with 25 yrs experience and I’d like very much to help the Haiku team alas my free time is inexistent. Some day though… :slight_smile:

In the meantime I was wondering if we’ll ever get my favorite IDE ported to Haiku - VisualStudio Code. Is Electron already working on Haiku?

Cheers!

1 Like

Don’t expect VisualStudio on Haiku (we are not Windows) :slight_smile:
But you could build Lazarus with FPCUPdeluxe which you can install through HaikuDepot.

FPCUPdeluxe

Lazarus-fpcupdeluxe

1 Like

VS Code is very different than Visual Studio. It’s based on Electron and it’s cross-platform. I use it as my daily development IDE for Mac, Win and Linux.

2 Likes

My bad then :wink:

If it works in Wine, then I would expect it to eventually work in Haiku.

1 Like

Electron is also not available for Haiku because it needs Chromium,which is not available for Haiku and doesn’t accept upstream patches for any operation systems other than Windows,Linux and macOS.
And the last time I tried,Wine couldn’t run recent Chromium versions,but that was some years ago so it may have changed.

3 Likes

Is KDevelop not working right now? That’s what I use. VS tends to hard-freeze my working PC needing a hard restart of the PC. Not needed on Haiku this is…

1 Like

KDevelop is available in HaikuDepot/pkgman, so I assume that it is working. (I don’t use it myself)

Well, what’s needed or not is always a very personal thing, isn’t it? :wink:

Some programs in HaikuDepot does not work for full use… and are still in HaikuDepot!

1 Like

Thanks nipos, that was useful to know. I know next to nothing about Electron but isn’t it based on Node.js? If Node is available for Haiku, does it still need Chromium?