Twitcher behaviour and show desktop functionality

Hello everybody. So I came back to Haiku, like I do every few months/years, and this time things are looking promising enough to motivate me to try to use the system as much as possible, report bugs and send small patches (which I’ve been doing). Kudos to you all.

One thing I really can’t get used to is window management. I find myself lost every time, not knowing where my windows are. I’ve probably been too many years in Windows, even when I’ve been using Linux on a semi regular basis since 2006 or so. Two things I’m missing the most at the moment, two things I rely on heavily when on Windows:

1. ALT-TAB functionality. I can’t get used to “short TAB press to switch windows directly, long press to bring Twitcher up”. I’d just prefer Twitcher to come up as soon as I press TAB. I also don’t really like to have windows grouped by app and having to press the arrow keys to select the window I’m trying to bring up. If I have say two or three Pe or Terminal Windows, ALT-TAB quickly becomes useless for me.
  2. Show desktop shortcut (WIN+D on Windows): I use this in two situations. One is when (don’t laugh) I like to put some order to things in my head. If I have many windows open, I find convenient to minimize them all and open the one I need to “start all over”, but I know this one is very personal. The other is when I need to click an icon on the desktop to open an app, folder or document. Having things on the desktop for quick access becomes pointless if there’s no way to minimize all open windows to click them fast.

Is there currently a way two get around these two things in Haiku (or a config option that I didn’t see)? Obviously not wanting to change the default behaviour to anyone, but it would be nice to have and I’d be willing to help writing this functionality if needed.

Cheers to all.

1 Like

On Haiku you use ctrl-tab instead :grinning: