Support for Haiku in upcoming SyncTERM release

Hey, I’m the author of the SyncTERM BBS terminal software, and I’m getting ready to release a new version. Since one of you previously offered a Haiku package (Hi @arfonzo!) I figured I would make the support official and be sure it sucks the least amount possible for Haiku users.

Currently, I’ve got it building and running well on Haiku R1/beta5 installed in a VM, and am working on the .PackageInfo file, but there’s a couple issues I’m unsure of or unable to fix.

The first issue was that there isn’t a “Downloads” folder in Haiku, so I have SyncTERM defaulting to save downloaded files to the desktop, which feels messy to me.

The second (and bigger) issue is that I’m not an artist. I hacked together a simple and ugly icon as a .png file that’s served me well over the years, but Haiku doesn’t really want raster icons, and Haiku icons have a distinctive look that my hacked together icon doesn’t come close to matching. It was suggested in IRC that I ask in here for help, so if you are interested in helping improve SyncTERM on Haiku, and have the skills to design an icon, I would really appreciate the help!

7 Likes

I tracked down the icon @arfonzo created in 2012 and added it… it’s mostly the same as the PNG icon from the package, so it’s not ideal, but at least now the need isn’t as dire.

Welcome Deuce!

You may want to consider creating a haikuporter recipe . That would allow rebuilding when needed without you having to do it manually if anyone reported a problem that could be easily solved by a rebuild. If you submit it to haikuports, the package would also automatically appear in HaikuDepot.

Agreed. Best solution IMO is to provide the user a setting within your app to choose a download location.

My skills in that department are hit and miss… :slight_smile:
If you posted the icon, people (hopefully more skilled than me) could give it a try.

1 Like

You may want to consider creating a haikuporter recipe