Python in Haiku

I’m new to Haiku. I see that python is installed.

Is there a way to create GUI Apps in python for Haiku?

There isn’t any GUI bindings for Python in Haiku yet.
QT and GTK are work in progress that has been done so maybe soon you will be able to make PyQT and PyGTK apps.

Python Be bindings would be awesome.

– See my newer post below.

There is Bethon, but I am not sure if that still works with the current Python in Haiku.

At least the sample Test files work, but Bethon is very difficult to understand and learn for a beginner.

I just bought a good programming Python Book for children and beginner.
Maybe you heard about that book, it’s name is “Hello World”… very nice written… easy to understand…
Unfortunatelly it uses some Librarys (urllib and Tkinter and easygui) which are not supported by Python for Haiku.
The programms in this book dont’ work. “easygui” - Library is realy easy to learn and use, maybe someone can try to port it to Haiku, but I dont think it will work since it uses the Tkinter-Module which is not supported. http://easygui.sourceforge.net/

If you want to write Haiku programs but C++ gives you convulsions (I understand, really) your choices right now are yab (BASIC) and Squirrrel (LOGO). Both are available at Haikuware.

In fact there is quite an active little yab community at Haikuware at the moment, and with everyone who is qualified to understand the Haiku API and C++ busy hacking away on the OS itself, most of the apps that are coming in there are either written in yab or are ported SDL games.

A working python interface to the Haiku API would be awesome. In fact, even a TCL/TK setup would be appreciated. Just as long as it is well documented!

In the meantime give yab a shot. The days of 100 GOTO 1000 are far behind us.

http://mysite.mweb.co.za/residents/clasqm/yab_programs/index.html

To answer the original poster - yes there is python Be bindings.