New Programmer

Hi, I’m Boston, 33yo, Brisbane, Australia.

I would like to join the Haiku community and get some experience with working on a large software project as part of a team.

I have a Bachelor of Maths, so I’m trained to work with data structures and algorithms, etc. At uni I used a lot of MatLab.
In my spare time I use a lot of C, coding up linked lists and vtables, etc.
I’d be comfortable working in C++ and I have some experience in other languages.

Im on holiday at the moment but what do you think about taking me in on this project?

Kind regards,
Boston.

12 Likes

Nice to see another Aussie :wink:
Haiku is an open source project, so people work on what they feel like.
Check out the Development page for ideas.

3 Likes

Just a suggestion from a Haiku newbie like you: This series of lessons is the closest thing to a Haiku API “tutorial” I could find so far. It starts with a short C++ tutorial, which I think it was not necessary, because playing with the Haiku API means you have a decent level of prior C++ experience - a short C++ tutorial won’t help otherwise. However the lessons get to the point pretty early and include valuable information for a beginner.
Necessary companions: The Haiku book and the Be Book. I can’t do anything without them.

I still have a lot of questions though.

4 Likes

We can always do with some more help :slight_smile:

In the way the team is organized, you get to decide what you want to work on exactly. There is a huge list of things to do, ranging from applications all the way down to kernel and drivers development. One way to find things to work on is simply to try and use Haiku for yourself, and soon enough you will find a problem to fix.

First of all, do you want to work on Haiku itself, or on one of the “3rd party” applications? The development environment setup will be a little different.

4 Likes

As @PulkoMandy said, feel free to work on whatever interests you. :slight_smile: