Network woes on compiled Haiku

Wireless networking works in Beta and nightlies. I ran a build and installed it from the image. Wireless networking doesn’t work.
I get this dialog when trying to connect to a router via the Deskbar icon:

Could not join wireless network:
Application could not be found

When trying in Network preference panel, either nothing happens or the prefs panel crashes.

The atheroswifi card is detected as normal and shows up normal in all the usual places. Just wanting to see if I’m doing something wrong before posting to trac. This is my first time booting into a self built install. Vanilla sources. Only code mod is my --working-directory argv code in Terminal. Wireless didn’t work before building with that. I tested complete vanilla first.

Are you sure the wpa_supplicant package is installed?

I have the same problem after trying to update from a Beta 1 to the nightlies…
wpa_supplicant is not installed here… how to manually install it?
No WiFi and no Ethernet!

You can dowload the package from the Haiku Depot Server from another OS and put the HPKG onto a USB stick, for example.

3 Likes

Yes, we don’t seem to ship wpa_supplicant in the minimum build profile; but we do ship the wireless drivers in it. That doesn’t, seem very useful, either we should add the supplicant or remove the drivers…

1 Like

yes great it is working that way… had to copy the file to the desktop because I opened the usb-stick readonly… but then it was working thx…

Thanks everyone. It’s like installing ArchLinux all over again. The drivers are in by default, but the userland is only partially there. I might have found a fun little project of chronicling the different build profiles.