MAME on Haiku

In an attempt to run the latest version of MAME on an old Acer Aspire One D257, I ended up going down a Haiku rabbit hole… The last time I touched a BeOS-like OS was 5 PE back in the 90s, so this has been a learning experience!

I’ve made some updates to the mame-0.226 recipe and manually applied the patches, working out the differences as I went. But I’ve hit an issue early on with the build: make is complaining.

make: *** No rule to make target 'build/projects/sdl/mame/gmake-haiku/Makefile' needed by 'haiku_x64'.  Stop.

Obviously I am brand new to HaikuPorts, so all my knowledge comes from looking at the wiki yesterday.

I wasn’t able to build 0.226 as the recipe prerequires python2, which I guess was removed from the repos relatively recently.

I’m currently at a loss for where to go next. I don’t know MAME’s build system, and I’m guessing that asking the MAME dev community will result in the response “OS not supported”. I’m hoping that someone here will be able to point me in the right direction.

What should my next steps be? Fork haikuports/haikuports, create a branch and put my current work there?

BTW, yes, I know I could just run a lightweight Linux distro on the laptop, but where’s the fun in that?

Alex

6 Likes

Thanks for checking this out, we could always use some help :slight_smile:
In regards to python2.7, this has been removed quite some time ago now, has seen it’s EOL.

Now, without seeing what you’ve done so far it’s hard to tell what the problem is, my first guess would be that no Makefile (or the like) is found/created?

You could fork haikuports etc, create a branch and do your work in there, then create a PR for it, we could have a look and guide you through eventual problems comming up.

2 Likes

Thanks for the quick reply! No worries, I’ll get the fork/branch made and do the PR.

Annoyingly, the git diff patch I created isn’t working with the recipe, but I think that’s just me not reading the wiki properly.