How do you use Haiku?

Do you use Haiku as your daily driver? Do you have Haiku install on bare metal or in a virtual environment (like VirtualBox)? For you, what is Haiku’s killer app? How long have you been using Haiku/BeOS?

I’m asking this because I’m writing an article about Haiku and would like to get a sense of who use it and why. I mostly write about Linux and FOSS but may write more about Haiku in the future. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

yeah right in the hardware on a lenovo.

I use haiku mainly on virtualbox… sometime test it on usbstick… because my hardware is not supported yet so i tend to use via virtualbox…
i have been use haiku since alpha4 until now…

I guess I’ve been around a loooong time…:slight_smile: I was a BeOS dev back in the day, and I stuck with the platform. My old BeOS machine is still the one that is on and at hand all day, as it happily does my mail, reading the BBC, looking up the TV schedule and so on. NetPositive is only adequate for maybe 70% of my browsing, but BeZilla does another 20%.

My laptop is dual-boot Haiku and Ubuntu – with the latter only being used once every week or so, usually when nothing but Firefox will work. Aside from Haiku development, probably my main use is for music. I’m not much of a musician, buit I like to play my (two) MIDI keyboards, and I use my MusicWeaver app to make a much more satisfying sound!

What model do you have?

I found out about Haiku only a few months ago, and I think it’s really cool! I mostly run it in Virtualbox. Even though I like it, I don’t think it has enough software to use daily.

I run Haiku on a mom-'n-pop-store i5 desktop, on bare silicon. I also have a Haiku partition on an old Dell laptop, mostly for testing purposes. I don’t believe in doing serious development work in an emulator, but that’s just me.