[GSOC 2023] .NET Port

Hi, I’m @trungnt2910

Some of you might have recognized me while I was active in 2022 or even earlier as a Google Code-in 2019 student.

I can see that there is a long been a request for C#/.NET development environment on Haiku, like C# - Haiku Community (haiku-os.org) or Porting Mono - Software - Haiku Community (haiku-os.org).

I’ve been active for a while and helped laying the foundations for the .NET port here, but then had some other commitments and had to stop.

This year, I want to complete this thing once and for all as a GSoC 2023 student.

Would this be a good idea?

16 Likes

.net port?
as a layman, i hear c# is not so popular.
so, it should not be the first important thing.
or, whatever , it is a good thing for haiku.

You might want to get in touch with @jessicah, i believe she’s made some substantial progress on the port and that you may want to take it from there?.

I did. I actually worked with her last year on the port.

5 Likes

.NET would be a great addition to Haiku. You could perhaps try to get FNA working. This would allow a number of games to run on Haiku: https://fna-xna.github.io/

There is also Ryujinx and probably a lot of other projects that would benefit from having a .NET Haiku port available.

1 Like

Hello,

Personally I don’t think I need .net much, but that’s irrelevant. As a GSoC project I think it would work fine: it is well defined, and probably the right amount of difficulty, especially if you already researched it a bit.

We’ll wait for your GSoC proposal :slight_smile:

8 Likes

C# is still in the top ten list in many developer surveys (PYPL, StackOverflow, TIOBE, etc.).
Personally, I used to love it when I was a professional developer but how it can be relevant to Haiku may be debatable.
C# can barely exist without .NET (there are exceptions, namely a dialect made for Unity) and unless we find a viable solution to include Haiku API bindings, it’s adoption will be limited IMHO.

1 Like