Game engine with official Haiku support

First post, so short introduction: I’m Laurin better known as lyniat and I’m professional game dev from Germany. Currently solo “CEO” :smiley: and dev at my own company. (The last one with employees did not work as expected :smiley: ).
I’m currently developing an own game engine, mostly for own products but also with the goal to sell it for some bucks on itch.io if everything works. :slight_smile: I have 10+ years of Unity experience but I’m not a Unity fan anymore. (Different reasons). I spent a lot of time developing with the great DragonRuby engine and fall totally in love with it’s simple concept.
DR is also the reason why I also chose Ruby as scripting language.
Last week I wanted to do a short break from daily business so I went through different topics on the internet and found Haiku.
I tested it a lot with Parallels on my iMac and it was a really cool experience! :+1:
So I started porting my engine for Haiku and progress is so far better than I expected.
Of course it will never be the next Unity or Unreal but I thought having a beginner friendly game engine with official support for this OS would be a cool thing.
So I wanted to check out if there are some people in this community who are interested in having such a tool and if there are some things you don’t want to miss.
I will post some screenshots and / or a video if I get the engine running on Haiku as expected. :slight_smile:

21 Likes

You could be interested by this thread about Drag[en]gine from Dragon Dreams which also has Haiku support. If you want to test it, it should be available though HaikuDepot.

Anything that makes haiku interesting for new developers or users is welcome.

Welcome/Willkommen to the Community

2 Likes