First contact report!

Hello, “new” user here :slight_smile: … I’ve used R5 somewhat in the past, so this feels more like a reencounter than anything. And i’m quite happy to see how everything has evolved. A big thank you to the devs, mantainers and community, Haiku rocks!

This is sort of a follow-up since I’ve installed Haiku nightly 3 weeks ago on my desktop PC, as main (& only) OS. I’m still learning how things work around here, bug reports etc and trying to fix stuff by myself as much as possible. But eventually I’ll need some help.

On this system (HP 6000 SFF, 6Gb RAM, C2Quad 9550) everything stock works: audio, onboard graphics, network etc. Nice! :+1: It has DP&VGA ports, and a GT610 PCIe card w/DVI&HDMI. My monitor only supports the latter so can’t use the Intel IGP ie. no accel for me… chugging along with VESA (and crippled 16:9 resolutions) for now.

HW quirks i’ve found:

• USB Bluetooth (BCM2035) - finds devices, can’t pair, retrying too much hangs BT service
  • USB mice don’t work on startup, need to unplug-replug for the OS to detect them (all ports)
  • USB HDDs (NTFS) - sloooow transfer rate (mounted RO, never tried mounting RW though)
  • PCIe WiFi (Atheros) - works fine, but doesn’t autoconnect to last AP on startup (is this by design?)
  • PCIe GPU - situation of Nvidia HW on Haiku is well known it seems, nothing to add

On the software side:

• Web+ was a pleasant surprise. Still not ready for daily use (can’t use it for banking, complex pages etc), but progress since the BeOS days is simply stellar.
  • Dooble is the smoothest & fastest browser RN, albeit stuck at 1.56f- still pondering if wise to get latest source and try compiling that (as a noob to Haiku). Will get back to this. Otter didn’t even last 20mins for me, too slow and fiddly.
  • Personal use-cases covered: productivity (LibreOffice, Krita, LibrePCB); media (VLC, Clementine, smtube); comms (Trojita, Transmission, VNC); and more. All working beautifully.