Driver for Broadcom BCM 4313

Hello!

My name is Alex, and I already posted here once. I felt like returning to Haiku, I wanted to look what’s new and I’m really please to see the recent progress! I love the enthusiasm of this community.

So I wanted to give it a go and I installed Haiku on my hardware, dualboot with Xubuntu. It’s all good, but one problem still persists. I have an unfortunate BCM 4313, which (unlike BCM 4312) isn’t supported by Haiku, so I have no internet connection on it. Thus, I’m going to use Haiku for undistracted fiction writing and coding - being offline has it’s uses.

But I still want to make Haiku use wi-fi. Did anything change since 2 years ago? How can I at least theoretically make it work? Is there a way to turn Windows BCM 4313 driver to FreeBSD driver, and from it to Haiku driver? Any help or advice appreciated. (It doesn’t help that I’m not a programmer, just an amateur coder.)

I wish you all a good day!

You just failed at the reading test. Go to the Forum front site and use the correct thread. It is even pinned.

1 Like

Um, that maybe could have been phrased a little nicer…

Welcome to Haiku, whether it’s a first or second post! :wink: A lot has changed in two years; mainly, there’s better hardware support, package management has improved, repos and updates have a nice front end, and more that can be read about in the progress reports since. Plus, (and a huge plus), the community now has LibreOffice 6, Calligra, Otter, and more running on Haiku now. And the Beta is actually getting closer than before. So I can definitely say things have gotten a lot better since 2016.