Do you seriously believe in Haiku as a desktop OS?

Ok, I’ve read in some places that Haiku is designed to be a desktop OS. I can’t tell If you’re serious or not and I’m kind of new to this OS, but here’s my honest opinion: It will never happen.

Why? Because It isn’t focused on the needs of a real desktop OS for common people.

There are mainly 3 needs that I need on my desktop OS:

• Being able to use my apps/software
  • Having the OS detect all hardware I throw at it. Any peripheral I plug in, needs to be recognized. I should have flawless performance and of course, my computer should be detected as well
  • Having a bug-free experience or with very few If any bugs

Due to the architecture of Haiku, It is simply impossible. First of all, Haiku doesn’t run .exe files natively nor at the VERY LEAST can It run MacOS programs natively. It will have the same problem as Linux but even worse.
Software and game developers try to reach the widest audience. They will see Haiku, a 0,00001% market share or something tiny and won’t port their software because It’s not worth the effort. The market share will also stay tiny because why should people use an inferior OS that doesn’t fulfill their needs and can’t even run their apps.
Now, you may try to rely on WINE, like Linux did but you will encounter the same issue: WINE is buggy, slow and can’t even run some formats of Windows apps like UWP. There are also some things that will probably NEVER work in WINE properly even after 50 years of skilled development like DRMs.

They will literally never catch up, Windows keeps adding new stuff like UWP as I said, new APIs, new functions and all this stuff: It’s simply impossible.

And please don’t tell me “We will create our own open source alternatives and outcompete Adobe, Microsoft and Apple with our nice team of 10 volunteers”. Nice joke, others tried and they all failed. Your small team of amateurs simply can’t compete with big billions dollars multinationals.