Development environment

There is quite a variety of tools available for development. I’m curious what others use for development of Haiku or apps for Haiku. A few questions to get better picture:

1. Are you working on Haiku itself or apps?
  2. What editor do you use? Do you have any special configs that others could find useful?
  3. Do you use Haiku itself for development or do you cross compile?
1 Like
  1. I recently started with patching a existing app,but I’m not experienced enough to work on Haiku itself.
  2. KDevelop with the default config.
  3. I use Haiku directly because that makes it easier to test quickly if my changes work.
2 Likes

I work on apps and Haiku itself (aswell as various lua games, heh), I use Koder and do my dev on Haiku.
(Kind of wish Koder would know how to highlight lua code though)

3 Likes

QtCreator as editor (use cmake for project files). Haiku Debugger to step through code (we’re >< close to having working gdb 10, so QtCreator can also step through code. Kdiff for comparison (though Beyond Compare for other systems has sftp codepath so often I remotely run code comparison).

Haiku BeAPI native apps or cross platform apps using my rendering engine (also has a GUI).

2 Likes

Ok, here we go :wink:

1. Apps
  2. Koder, mostly. I still use Pe to edit Makefiles because it has a special mode to add sources. And sometimes vi(m) when I make quick and small changes to files, e.g. bumping the version number in the .rdef file.
  3. Haiku itself. Mostly in Virtualbox but I also have a rather old laptop where Haiku is installed natively.

Hope that helps, feel free to ask if you have further questions.

1 Like
  1. Apps and Haiku (apps within Haiku)
  2. Koder, did use Pe but you can’t see hidden chars etc (not that I know of) so was easier to move to Koder
  3. Haiku it self have a handful of old laptops, Nuc and realy smal pc’s
1 Like
  1. I work on a bit of everything