Contest for System Sounds | Haiku Project

It wouldn’t be wrong to say that, Haiku is a unique operating system. It takes its roots from BeOS, the OS everyone envied back in the day. Haiku continues to follow its footsteps, trying to deliver that same experience. What could be better than complementing this unique operating system with a set of unique system sounds?

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.haiku-os.org/news/2020-09-11-system-sound-contest/
14 Likes

WAV is a container format and can contain compressed MP3 data (among others). Might want to specific PCM if that’s what you were going for.

2 Likes

Will update, thanks for the notice!

1 Like

Are the system sounds fixed? Last time I tried (admittedly from before Beta2), only the beep and startup sound worked.

I love this! I’ve been using beos-5 sounds for many years and they are starting to sound boring … :sweat_smile: :sweat_smile:

Not yet, but we have to hope that they’ll work someday…
Personally, silencing my OS is the first thing I do after first boot-up. :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Yes, my vote goes to the silent sound theme as well :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

Indeed, there are moments when you don’t want system sounds i.e. when watching a video, when recording your own sound etc.
Maybe there could be an option to silence system sounds in MediaPlayer, SoundRecorder and some other apps?

Well, the BBC just released 16000 sound effects for free, so maybe something in there would work?

1 Like

It’s not the first time that they release some. They tend to be too long so don’t expect too much.

There are few things here if have time. https://bigsoundbank.com/

1 Like

If you have a Twitter account, please share this post and spread the word. We can use any interaction we can get!

1 Like

Hey all! I just wanted to quickly stop by and check in, and wow! A sound theme contest?!? This is so exciting! :laughing: