BeOS App Can't Open Serial Port

Hello all,

Let me preface this by saying that I’m totally new to Haiku and BeOS, and I know next to nothing about software development

Here’s my problem:
I’m trying to run some old BeOS (v5.0.3) software that interfaces with some old audio hardware that I have. The software is meant to communicate with the hardware through an rs232 serial connection. While the application will open in Haiku, I get an error telling me that it is unable to open the serial port to communicate with the hardware.
I’d like to know if there’s anything I can do to get this app working in Haiku. I tried running BeOS 5.0.3 in VirtualBox and I do not get the same error. However, after configuring VirtualBox to use serial ports, the app freezes shortly after opening.

Any help with this is greatly appreciated,
Thanks!

What’s the name of the app you’re trying to run?

It’s CueStation 2.5
Not sure if I’m allowed to share the executable here?
If not, it can be obtained relatively easily by contacting Meyer Sound customer support (which is how I got it).

Likely this is some problem in the pc_serial driver (it’s really not so robust, and there are other issues like this.) @mmu_man may know something.

So is this an issue with VirtualBox then?
I’m currently running it on MacOS, would it be worth trying on a Windows machine? Or would that not make a difference?

I suppose you disabled serial debug output… although IIRC the driver shouldn’t publish the port which is used for that.
You could try to enable debugging the driver, it seems creating pc_serial driver settings file, with debug_output true would work, cf.
https://git.haiku-os.org/haiku/tree/src/add-ons/kernel/drivers/ports/pc_serial/Tracing.cpp

Well, before digging so deep in debugging, there are a few simpler things to check:

1. Open a terminal and type “ls /dev/ports”. Do you see the serial ports there?
  2. Can you use the ports in SerialConnect?