Anyone interested in porting of the FreeBASIC compiler?

I wanted to do but seems not easy. The gfxlib2 we could use the opengl render, I think, since we don’t have X11. We could treat Haiku as a Unix to minimize the works. The compiler could be the easy part, but the rtlib is not. I don’t know anything about development on Haiku yet.

Please have a look into this:

We need to create a new src/rtlib/haiku and port the code above for FreeBSD to Haiku.

This needs an Haiku experts. I’m just a hobbyist liked to hack. These low level stuffs are beyond my ability. Anyone interested?

I don’t know much more than you about those graphics libraries but I’m writing a Yab to C++ trans-piler. Would something like Yab satisfy your programming needs?

1 Like

Hi have start to port freebasic, but it isn’t easy for me. I am also a Hobby coder.

What kind of program do you want to program?

Yab can be good engough for that.

Does Yab means Yabasic? I prefer FreeBASIC because it has OOP support. FreeBASIC also compiles into a standalone binary. Yabasic seems to be interpreted even though it was said that you could bind the interpreter into the script to create an executable.

Yes yab is based on yabasic. It is a interpteter. You can run yab as script or bind it to the yab binary as executeable file.

Yab is not only a yabasic port, you can use api commands to create programs and games in the style of haiku.

I like and love it.

An other interesting interpreter are egsl - easy game scripting with lua, but it does not run anymore.

The egsl ide are written in yab (for haiku)

Native executables are on the way. My transpiler is an export engine to C++ syntax so you won’t need the interpreter any more for binding. However, in order to make nonstructured commands work (like “on n gosub”), the possibility of OOP is not there.

i try to use freebasic with dosbox in haiku-os,but failed.
and it can not configure and make install clean from the source.