Advice on porting language to support Haiku

After joining the Haiku community 1.5 month ago, I started learning some more about C/ C++ fundamental, playing and contributing with few linux utility written in C++ to get myself more familiar with the C/C++ and unix system call.

I am currently researching and preparing for gsoc 2023 right now and want to do some research on this project idea - Porting the Go Programming Language to Haiku.
GSoC project ideas | Haiku Project (haiku-os.org)

Beside studying this course about language and compilers CS143: Compilers (stanford.edu) to understand how a programming language and compliers works. Is there any course or tutorial that I could look at to learn the fundamental related to this project.

Currently I have some idea on what a operating system is but I have not much idea on how a programming language and system and hardware interact with each other. I got some idea on how hardware work from a C perspective, e.g. how data stored in memory. But dont know "what is the interaction between C, software, OS, hardware behind a malloc " e.g. I have no idea what to do, how to do, to port a language to support Haiku

4 Likes

Hello!

I think there is much talk on porting Golang to Haiku, one thread I am most familiar with is Help with porting golang

There are some people who are working on porting it and has different progress status so check out that, I think Korli’s work is ahead so you can see if you could help with that.

From my experience exploring source code is a good idea to learn how things work, and see if you can make some simple contributions there.

That said even I am interested to learn the theoretical part of OS and how porting works so let’s see if some other developer could list out some resources.

3 Likes

Hello and welvome :slight_smile: