AbiWord native Haiku spinoff

Goal of the project:
use Abiword’s code base and make native word processor for Haiku.

Purpose of this talk is to gather information about what must be done and how it can be done to achieve this goal.

Idea initially started in Word Processor for Haiku?

I am not a developer, only starting learning this. So… I know all most nothing about making or porting software. I hope to learn something about this. With yours help. Also, if we get more people working on this, work get finish sooner.

Ok. Lets start.

It is clear, that one must rewrite GUI and move file management to Haiku translators.
It is clear, that one must adapt some native Haiku building system (jam?)
It is clear, that one must remove not needed non Haiku code.
It is clear, that one must develop some algorithm of porting-rewriting.
It is clear, that one mus get some knowledge of doing all these things.

1 Like

Rewriting the build system would be a waste of time. We have the tools to use Abiword’s current one, which will be much less work.

Here is how I would do it (but it’s just one way…)

1. Get latest AbiWord sources
  2. Try to get it to compile
  3. Find out that there are many dependencies (at least, I know they use various libraries for loading and saving files in different formats)
  4. Port the libraries
  5. Get Abiword to compile. Not necessarily remove the non-Haiku code, but disable it and add “stubs” (empty functions) for the Haiku implementation. For later help, the stubs can do something like print a message to the output (“I’m $functionName and I’m not implemented!”)
  6. You will get a binary that runs, but does nothing or crashes.
  7. See which stubs are called, and start filling them in one after another, until you get the whole program running.
  8. Later on we can see about more integration with Haiku: using translators, etc, and maybe adding new features.