(wrong approach, dismiss)'haistate' command line tool to manage system states (proof of concept)

Good day,

I’ve been using Silverblue since January 2020 enjoying the benefits of inmutable system and the like. In a sense, similar to Haiku.
So I was thinking on how to manage all those saved states that appear when booting Haiku on BM (bare metal), therefore I came out with haistate.

While it’s not complete by all means, it’s a WIP as of today, it is only a simple approach at managing system states from the Terminal. Yep, it can be done with a GUI too, but for that I first need to fully understand the API.

Here is the first screenshot:
haistate

Any comments welcome. This is, for those guessing, just a simple bash script.

Regards,
RR

3 Likes

Where can I get it?

Is not ready yet. As soon at is functional will release it on GitHub for testing.

Regards,
RR

If I understood well how it works, you can’t know if pinned states will work.
Unlike a snapshot that will restore an image of the whole system, states are restoring what have been modified at a moment. To go back in time to state 1, you process through all states backward starting from actual state.
I may be wrong but if it is the case, successfully restoring a pinned state will depend of what have been modified in states deleted.
If it was somehow redundant, it may work. If was not, you can’t tell.

Thanks @Starcrasher,

Actually I didn’t think about it until you pointed it out. I just did some check right now. States are just plain text files listing the installed packages. Removing unused just cleans space on disk and removes clutter from the boot process so there wouldn’t be a big list of states available.
I did a diff on two files from 2 different dates and there were big changes. So as you said,