WiFi woes: Realtek RTL8191SEvB, hrev50173, Lenovo ThinkPad T400

I’m a reltive newbie to Haiku, having been experimenting with it off and on for just a couple of months, and have so far been unable to get WiFi working.

My computer is a Lenovo ThinkPad T400, currently running the latest nightly (hrev50173), with a Realtek RTL8191SEvB wireless LAN controller on the PCI bus.

The relevant section of the listdev output is:

device Network controller [2|80|0]
vendor 10ec: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
device 8172: RTL8191SEvB Wireless LAN Controller

The Devices app reports the following (on the “Detailed” tab):

Class info: Network controller
Device name: RTL8191SEvB Wireless LAN Controller
Device paths: Not implemented
device/bus: pci
device/flags: 1
device/id: 0x8172
device/interface: 0x0
device/subtype: 0x80
device/type: 0x2
device/vendor: 0x10ec
Driver used: Not implemented
Manufacturer: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
pci/bus: 3
pci/device: 0
pci/domain: 0
pci/function: 0

The rtl81xx and rtl8139 drivers are both present in /boot/system/add-ons/kernel/drivers/bin/

The wired controller is an Intel device that functions perfectly (I’m posting this from within Haiku using that interface currently).

Any ideas or suggestions on what I can do to get this working? Am I missing something somewhere?

TIA for any assistance you can provide.

Hi,

The RTL8139 surely wired, and if i’ve seen correctly, the rtl81xx also a wired chip. Maybe there is a magic in Haiku and it is using wired driver to drive the wlan cards, but i have no idea about that. There was some wlan driver in the good ol’ BeOS times what worked that way, so maybe.

First you can check the “ifconfig” output in terminal. If you see booth of your interfaces, then there is a chance to get it work. The Devices and the listdev output just lists every hardware, so it doesn’t means that they are supported.