Why keep BeOS binary compatibility?

Hi,

I’m a computer science student who have been looking at Haiku for a very long time. I’m tinkered with it since the R1 alpha 1 in 2009.

I also had the pleasure to meet one guy of the Haiku project during the RMLL (Rencontres Mondiales du Logiciel Libre) in 2010.

Please forgive me if my question seems too naive, or if it’s a matter that you have to answer frequently, but as much as I am excited for any progress made by the Haiku project, I wonder why BeOS binary compatibility have to be preserved.

So far, it seems to me that this matter prevents the Haiku project of moving forward, since it has to rely on a mixture of GCC2 and other (usually GCC4, but apparently now it’s possible to use GCC7(?)), and makes porting Haiku on anything else than x86 32bit a curiosity because binary compatibility cannot be preserved when moving to a different architecture.

Reading the recent article “LibreOffice for Haiku, a not-so-short story” comforts me in my idea that BeOS binary compatibility gives little benefits to the project and holds a lot of things back.

Therefore I wonder: Since no one use BeOS any more, and since original BeOS software is both rare and architecture dependent, why keep BeOS binary compatibility?

Best regards,

Some of the actual Haiku devs may chime in, but I think that at this point in time, keeping BeOS compatibilty isn’t that much of a hassle. It’s been important at the beginning of Haiku and not so much anymore, but there is still gcc2 only software around.

For a user or 3rd party developer, it doesn’t matter at all. With a simple “setarch x86” you switch to gcc7.3 to compile your sources on 32bit Haiku. If you don’t care at all about BeOS software, just switch to 64bit Haiku and never spare another thought on it.

You may be right there, though I still prefer WonderBrush to any other graphics app on Haiku and love to play with SyncModular.