Unable to change font in BTextView

Hi all,
this is my first time posting here.
I am Johannes from Germany. So pls apologize my bad english.
And i really love Haiku :slight_smile:

So… i’m about programming some software for Haiku.
While that, i’m struggled of lots of problems…
First of all, i tried to make my GUI with the Layout lib. Works bad.
Lots of graphic errors.
So i decided to make my GUI the old way :wink:
Works perfect… till now.

I have a BTextView and i wanna change the font size and color in there.
But it just dont work!

I even tried in a small project with just a BTextView…

MainWindow::MainWindow(void)
: BWindow(BRect(100,100,500,400),“Main Window”,B_TITLED_WINDOW, B_ASYNCHRONOUS_CONTROLS)
{
BRect r(Bounds());
r.bottom = 20;
fMenuBar = new BMenuBar(r,“menubar”);
AddChild(fMenuBar);
r = Bounds();
r.top = 20;

BTextView* fTextView = new BTextView(r,"textview",BRect(0,0,1000,1000),B_FOLLOW_ALL);

AddChild(fTextView);
BFont font;
fTextView->GetFont(&font);
font.SetFace(B_BOLD_FACE);
font.SetSpacing(B_CHAR_SPACING);
fTextView->SetFont(&font);

}

But it just dont work.

The font remains the same…

BTextView uses a text_run_array structure to describe fonts and colors of the text.
You can modify the structure easily with:
https://www.haiku-os.org/legacy-docs/bebook/BTextView.html#BTextView_SetFontAndColor

I suggest to use layout or your application will not scale with different fonts.
(https://www.haiku-os.org/docs/api/layout_intro.html)

Thanks for your answer. As i said, it tryed to us the Layout api. But it works not really good. I got lots of graphic failures. But it will try to test the text_run_array. Thx alot

And i tryed SetFontAndColor many times in many ways… did not work…

It would really help to see the code. Also of your layout management adventures. All apps coming with Haiku and many 3rd party apps are using it successfully, so there has to be something wrong with the code.
I suggest putting it into a github repo.