Troubleshooting the Haikuporter recipe for OpenXcom

Hey there everyone. I just recently installed Haiku nightly on an old Core2Duo machine, and have been looking for something to help learn about the system and possibly contribute. I’m not really a serious programmer, but the build recipies in Haikuporter looked like a good place to start, since some of them have gone unmaintained for a while.

I’ve been trying to get the recipe for OpenXcom 1.0 working, since it’s been listed on the OpenXcom page as a legit port while not being updated since 2014.

I created a new directory in my local copy of the ports tree, copied over the existing recipe/etc. files, then renamed the directory and recipe to “openxcom-fixed” (I’ll change that if I can get it working).

I figured maybe it might be as simple as fixing the web link to the proper source code archive, so I changed the SOURCE_URI and CHECKSUM_SHA256 entries to the current correct location. Then, I started troubleshooting the build to see what other config lines/files need to be changed. I got the archve to download and the checksum to match, but after that, running the recipe results in the following:

~> haikuporter -S openxcom-fixed
Checking if any package-infos need to be updated …
updating dependency infos of openxcom-fixed
Looking for stale dependency-infos …

games-strategy::openxcom-fixed
/boot/home/haikuports/games-strategy/openxcom-fixed/openxcom-fixed.recipe

Skipping download of source for v1.0.tar.gz
Skipping checksum validation of v1.0.tar.gz
Skipping unpack of v1.0.tar.gz
fatal: ambiguous argument ‘ORIGIN’: unknown revision or path not in the working tree.
Use ‘–’ to separate paths from revisions, like this:
‘git […] – […]’
Command ‘[‘git’, ‘reset’, ‘–hard’, ‘ORIGIN’]’ returned non-zero exit status 128

Does this mean that the directory structure of the archive is something unexpected, or is the problem in a different config file? For reference, here’s what I currently have in my recipe file: