The God, Haiku and the BSD Daemons

Hello, my name is Eugenijus-Jonas, or Eugene-John in English. I'm live in Vilnius, Lithuania. I'm a catholic.
Some months ago I had tried Haiku and found it very attractive. I even wanted to install it as my desktop, but when next version had not booted from USB flash, I has decided to wait. But I am liking it and have hope, that in some days (not so quick of course) it would can be most widespread desktop OS on the market.
But exist some disturbance - its dependence on BSD. Is it possible to change driver subsystem to Linux for example or something you'd like (I'm not a programmer)? Fact is that mascot of all BSD's is the Beastie, or the Daemon, or the Devil, and they (BSD's community) depend on Him and He flaw all business. I think it is not a problem, when some drivers are in other licence or even binary form - just no BSD, no Devil.

And another question. Is it possible to include in Haiku philosophy, that you believe in God?
What do you (community) think about it?

Eugenijus-Jonas.

As much as I can understand your dislike for the FreeBSD mascot, Iā€™m of the opinion that it isnā€™t a compelling enough reason not to use that code. In the case of Linux, the license for the code is much less permissive for use in Haiku (GPL puts some additional restrictions on developers who use code). BSD code is rather useful, considering, and in some cases it is even simpler to use than Linux code. You are also specifically referring to FreeBSD, which is only a single BSD distro. There is also OpenBSD, NetBSD, and DragonflyBSD which all have very different mascots. In the end, we are not a BSD, so I donā€™t see any reason for concern.

AFAIK, Haiku doesnā€™t currently align itself with any specific religion, as we happen to have community members and contributors from all parts of the world, and likely of many different (and possibly conflicting) religions. It would therefore be in our best interest to avoid this, IMO.