Star LabTop

I stumbled over the Small Technology Foundation and their review of the »Star LabTop« and i wonder, if someone was able to test it (with Haiku)? I’ve done a quick search before, so i guess not.
But philosophy and pricing are interesting: https://starlabs.systems/pages/laptops
What do you think?

1 Like

Looks intersting
Write them if they like to test Haiku on their Hardware.
If it works some Haiku users may interested in buying.

2 Likes

Good idea! I ask them …

1 Like

Unfortunately they don’t have any time for such tests, but i received a kind answer.
Apparently they are receiving numerous similar inquiries.
So we have to crowdfund one for test purposes :wink:

No need, they do not need our money it seems!

Hi, I signed up for the forum, just to say I happen to own the Labtop MKIV.
I have obtained the current R1/Beta2 and will see if it is able to boot.

Just to clarify, I am no developer, just someone who likes to use Unix like operating systems.

EDIT: Long ago, when BeOS Personal was free for home use, I did look at it briefly, unfortunately I was too yough and more charmed by gaming back then.

EDIT2:
Good news everyone! (reference to a long stopped cartoon). The Beta2 boots and shows a desktop/installer. I am not wiping my current install. My observations:

• Heavy screen tearing, does show the native 1920x1080 resolution.
  • No networking or bluetooth
  • Touchpad not recognized

Let me know if there is interest in me running some sort of diagnostic or anything in the live environment.

5 Likes

Thank you very much for registering! Maybe we can get you excited about Haiku and you stay longer :slight_smile:
I would definitely be curious about your results.

1 Like