Porting: What does it entail and why is it so hard

Hello, I am a big fan of Haiku because it’s fast and it is looking at computing in a new way, but without a variety of good programs, it doesn’t really have any use for me. If it had Audacity or Kdenlive I could use it for just recording or video editing, but it doesn’t (to my knowledge). My question is: What does it take to port a program from linux or windows and what makes it so hard? There are programs that have “OS independent source code.” Are they making that up, or can it really work on all OS’s.

Please explain it in laymen’s terms because I am still learning.

Thanks,
Lexen

Programmers like many professions rely a lot on re-using the hard work of other people who’ve gone before them. Not everything can be re-used but a lot of things can. For example, lots of different programs need to decode JPEG data into pixels that make up the recognisable picture. So very soon after the dawn of electronic computers there came into existence libraries of program code. At first they’d literally be written libraries on paper, that you could copy from, but quickly it became easier to store the code in some machine-readable form.

After a little while, some code was being used so much that programmers would always leave it on the computer. Even if the next person to use it was doing something quite different, he’d be sure to want that code. For example, perhaps the computer has a teletype attached, and this library code can print a message on the teletype. Well, even if your program calculates payroll and the next one is for estimating rocket thrust, they both want to print results. This sort of especially general purpose library code evolved into the first operating systems.