Nightly/R1B5 - Ported apps -- to be recompiled -- due to OpenSSL 3.x introduction

Ahoy !

I opened this new thread to mention apps where reconfig and addition needed to recompile to work againg together
with upgraded TLS/SSL version.

As OpenSSL v1.1 lifecycle has ended - on Haiku - it was resolved by intruducing a backward compatible, but newer openssl 3.x version.

It was followed on many packages but
there are more that had not scoped closely by the OS itself
and / or
especially all other ported or 3rd party applications running on Haiku (32 and 64 bit either).

I thought I open this thread and someone who has a Github account and (would) use that application can report there as well - ( just as ) the maintainer(s) may not follow the forum posts.

Actually I accept developers decision to use Github for reporting issues of such apps
but , at the same time , I still do not want create an account … just for that reporting.

I am not a developer, so I do not need and want to have that account so far.

These issues can be experienced , at this moment .

on Nightly (master branch)

and / or

on the shaping new beta (r1beta5 branch)

Thanks in advance for your acceptance and understanding –

… especially those ones who are going to / would immediately propose the opening an issue about it on Github.
For them I kindly ask to read again the opening post. (THIS ONE :)) )

1 Like

#01 Otter browser

01)) Otter_browser

Warning : SSL_support_is_not_available_or_incomplete

nightly build , hrev57980

arch → x86_64

01__Otter_browser__SSL_support_is_not_available_or_incomplete__hrev57980__x86_64

02)) Otter_browser

99 network failure –ADVANCED → TLS_not_initialised, SSL_librarary_is_not_available

nightly build , hrev57980

arch → x86_64

1 Like

I think that we kept this version of Otter because it is the last one not using QtWebengine. Let’s hope migrating to OpenSSL 3 won’t force us the hand.