New laptop for me

I recently bought a second-hand laptop, I was looking for a low power laptop and I found this Celeron N4120, with 4 gigs of ram and 120GB SSD.
Haiku boots like a rocket, it has only these 3/4 problems:

• the touchpad don’t work (well not a problem for me as I use a trackball)
  • the video card UHD Graphics 600 (GT1) (not much a problem as framebuffer works fine)
  • the wifi (a big problem as Realtek 8821CE is not supported and it is the only network card onboard)

so I’m writing to receive suggestions on how to solve these problems. I tried something:

• as FreeBSD 14 is out I modified the realtek-firmwares recipe on haikuports to use the latest versions, but… well… maybe this wasn’t the right step… maybe it’s not one of those portable to haiku, who knows, I’m not an expert
  • I’m trying to add UHD Graphics 600 definitions in headers/private/graphics/intel_extreme/intel_extreme.h /src/add-ons/kernel/drivers/graphics/intel_extreme/driver.cpp /src/add-ons/kernel/busses/agp_gart/intel_gart.cpp
    here the results (I added 2/3 lines in total, no more):

I defined GeminiLake as CoffeeLake group as being the same Gen (9.5)
it is just an attempt, maybe I’m not doing it right
In fact changing the resolution I get black screen.

The last problem I encounter Is a repetitive cpu intensive task when pc is idle, the task that causes this high consumption is shown in this screenshot:

3 Likes

for those who are interested here is the syslog (it will last for 6 days)

Does the wifi work on FreeBSD or OpenBSD? If yes which driver does it use? (iirc i saw that card name in the forums before but did not search)

Apparently, FreeBSD’s rwt88 driver should cover RTL8821CE (along with RTL8822CE, RTL8822BE, and RTL8723DE).

Edit: but that uses the “linuxkpi compat framework”, so seems like a no go for Haiku.