Native applications and fragmentation

This is excellent work, and although I really appreciate the effort for porting more applications from Linux I really do worry this will distract developers from building native applications for Haiku and relying on compatibility layers like this to port or develop applications, this wasn’t such a concern with Qt as that isn’t such a mess as GTK is but I really hope developers will still rely on native Haiku APIs to build their applications that don’t require X11 and not on a bunch of compatibility layers as that’s the best way to achieve obfuscation and fragmentation between developers.

Sorry if this didn’t make any sense to some people btw, im not a developer but things on Linux like Flatpak and Snap with their sandboxing has caused so much fragmentation especially with things like GTK introducing libadwaita, im really worried to see Haiku go down that path with extreme fragmentation between developers.

9 Likes

By the way, Snap and Flatpak are packaging (anti-)tools, not ToolKits. They try to solve distribution problems of precompiled binaries. They basically are just windows “install pre-requisite” installers in a nice shell. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not fond of those tools but they do not “fragment” Linux since they are just that: a fat archive. They work but consume lots of redundant space. They are not what Linux has been designed for (you’ve got source code access) and is not what a true Linuxian would use.

1 Like

When was the last time you heard a Windows user say that application X and Y suck because they were compiled with an outdated version of Visual Studio, or they use Qt instead of the win32 GUI? The fact that this is even an issue at all in Linux is a testament to how badly most of the Linux ecosystem is designed.

There are so many Linux applications where any real feature work will halt for 3 years because they have to rewrite everything for a new version of GTK. This is pure insanity. Let’s not go there.