MIDI software for Haiku

Hi everyone!

I’ve been playing around with the fantastic synth SyncModular and got myself a nice little MIDI controller (Akai MPK miniII) since I had a birthday recently. :slight_smile:
It’s only a 25 keys controller and I’m not a musician at all (just learning a few cords, painfully…), but nonetheless, I’d like to ‘record’ and edit my masterpieces. I understand that I need sequencer software for that, right?

Unfortunately, MeV apparently doesn’t feature midi input.
Sequitur, as it’s currently available, doesn’t seem to provide any of the tools to set/edit notes (icons are missing). I also didn’t manage to see my MIDI input anywhere. PatchBay doesn’t show Sequitur either. Could be a user error, of course. Sequencers seem to be quite complex and confusing apps…

Is anyone using any MIDI software under Haiku (for MIDI input, of course)?

As I have no experience with music software, can I control sample files (WAV etc.) with my MIDI-in with a sequencer app normally? Under Haiku as well?

Thanks!

Hmm… I use Sequitur quite a lot – and reasonably successfully :slight_smile:. One of the main things I do in Haiku is MIDI! In fact I’ve been playing with it all morning… (Trying to write an emulator for the Novachord :relaxed:)
I think the Sequitur available on the depot is the one I fixed up for Haiku, but I’ll go check. [And yes… Sequencers are in general hideously complicated beasts!]

Mnyehh… Looks like a) the version on HaikuDepot thinks it wants a brand new hrev, so I can’t look at it directly, and b) I did my updating pre-PM, and that version doesn’t run in PM. However they are both 2.1.2 (I bumped that rev), so they should behave the same.

With the version I have, I can record MIDI, and can edit the resulting tracks. What seems to be missing?