Libssh2 on Haiku

I’m currently writing an SFTP/SCP client for Haiku. Since I’m already a bit familiar with the Haiku API (Interface Kit etc.) I started playing around with libssh2, which I’ve never used before.

I have written a little commandline test program, which connects over ssh, authenticates with user and password, establishes an sftp session and gets the directory listing of the specified folder. The problem is that it fails at the SSH handshake (libssh2_session_handshake()) with error code -2 and the message “Failed getting banner”.
The error does not occur on Linux, OSX, and FreeBSD only on Haiku (64bit and 32bit with gcc7 and gcc2).

Is there anybody on the forum who has some experience with libssh2 under Haiku? Is it a bug in the Haiku version of libssh2 or am I doing something wrong?

My test program is available here: https://pastebin.com/4GCyHag0
I compile it with “g++ -Wall -o sshtest sshtest.cpp -lssh2 -lnetwork”, and it should be run with “./sshtest ssh_server username password directory”

1 Like

While I can’t help with your issue, I’d like to point you to FTPPositive. Maybe if you don’t want to start from scratch, it’d be nice to extend and improve.

2 Likes

As you dont specify it here, not can be seen in the pastebin (you used argv), are you testing this against an external ssh server or are you trying to connect to the localhost ssh server on Haiku?

A local test may throw some light on the topic. (Also faster configuration changes to see if it works).

I have tested it with an external linux server, with an external haiku machine and with localhost on the same haiku machine. Always the same results.

As an additional info, connecting with the commandline ssh client supplied with haiku always worked.

Although I intended to start from scratch as a learning experience, your suggestion definitely makes sense to me. I’ll take a look at the FTPPositive source code and see if I can work with it. Do you know if it is maintained by somebody?