How to connect Haiku to the internet?

I have a DSL connection, use an Ethernet card and connect through Point-to-Point Protocol. I use Fedora 16 (Xfce). Here all I have to do is to go to Network Connections → DSL and put in my USERNAME and PASSWORD provided by the internet service producer. I have no idea how I can use this little information on Haiku.

Note: I haven’t installed Haiku. I was experimenting with the OS through a Live CD.

Thank you for reading! (^_^)

Since Haiku lacks PPP stack (see http://dev.haiku-os.org/ticket/812) the only solution is to use any DSL router which will take care of PPP connection/authorization.

I am sorry. I don’t understand. I am not a professional programmer. (-_-)

Are you asking to have another machine with a working internet connection and then linking the desktop with the Live CD to it?

Your DLS ROUTER can connect to PPP itself. You need just configure it, and then you don’t need some extra actions like:“Here all I have to do is to go to Network Connections → DSL and put in my USERNAME and PASSWORD provided by the internet service producer.”

(^_^) You want internetz?
(^v^) Haiku has found the network
(x_X) But no internetz

To change your router settings, usually you can do so with a browser by connecting to one of these:

No he is not suggesting to use another computer already connected but connecting your computer network card to a router box that is set up with your ISP user name and password. Some routers are two in one devices also contain a DSL modem. This way you only need one box.

For greater clarity: You currently connect via ethernet to a DSL modem, using PPPoE. The modem receives your credentials from the computer, that’s why you enter them there. As mentioned, Haiku does not support this way of connecting.

What people are trying to tell: There is high chance that the DSL modem you’re using can also act as a router, which usually is preferrable. In this case, the device establishes the connection on its own.