How do you set an application as the default?

I have been using VLC since the mid-1990’s on a variety of OS’s. I have it installed on haiku now. How do i make it the default application to use for vids/audio? If that isn’t possible, then to have it sit in the “Open with” menu?

thanks

note: i did a brief search for info but couldn’t find anything.

You can set this in the Filetypes preferences application.

https://www.haiku-os.org/docs/userguide/en/preferences/filetypes.html

https://www.haiku-os.org/docs/userguide/en/filetypes.html

If it does not appear here then VLC does not properly expose that it supports a filetype and would need to be fixed.

regards

1 Like

thanks for that.

it looks like i could have improved my search.

I think that part of the haiku is still being developed, as it isn’t working. the gui is there, but the connections to what is underneath doesn’t seem to exist.

That’s all ok, i know development has a way to go yet.

I’m not sure what you mean here. I’ve definitely changed my preferred applications in FileTypes (not for media applications, but for source code and other such files, but it’s the same logic internally) and it worked just fine. If it doesn’t for you (i.e. you changed preferred applications in FileTypes but it still opens with the old one), that’s a bug…

Yes, it should work. Please specify more directly what you are trying to do, how, and what happens instead : )

thanks for your quick reply. firstly, i am a bit thick, so i may be missing the obvious.

I would like to be able to double click on a video file & have it open up in my preffered player. that’s the goal.

I can start a vid with vlc “extras 2.mkv” in the terminal. i can’t input vlc into the rmb menu “Open” or “Choose an application” box in anyway that works.

What is the filetype of your file? you can test this with listattr and catattr.