Help me decide if I should go back to school

I’m trying to make a really difficult decision in my life and I’m hoping I can get some good advice.
I’m a lawyer and I hate it. In the movie “Murder on the Orient Express” one man says, “I’m a lawyer by education but not by disposition.” That’s basically me.

I’ve been doing some beginning programming stuff and I love what I read here on Haiku (although I don’t understand much of it).

I’m thinking of quitting my job and going back to school to get a CS degree. I have a family with 4 kids, so it would probably mean selling the house to pay for the program (or massive student loans, or both).

I was looking at the degree requirements in universities near me and it just seems so daunting. I wouldn’t have to do general ed classes because I’ve already got a bachelor’s, but it still seems like SO MUCH. Like more than 80 credit hours, including linear algebra, physics, calculus 3 along with the CS courses, which are about 20. The community college has an “associates of computer science” with about 40 credit hours but I’m skeptical. Can I get a good job with an associates in CS?

I’m facing staying in a job I dislike for the rest of my life, or uproot the family, take on a lot of student loans and risk not getting a great job at the end of it, especially if I don’t take all of the classes to get a bachelor’s degree. I would love to work on operating systems.

hello…

hard to say what you! should decide.
How old are you? How old are your kids? Are you married?

If you are young enough you can still look for another opportunity!
As early as possible! Then more you wait then more time you will loose!
Which country do you live in?

Do you know how to write software apps? What are your hobbies?
Can friends help you getting another job? Have you been trying living outside your country?