Help installing OpenJDK

I’ve been following Haiku for a little while, lurking at the edge. Recently it’s been brilliant to see how usable and stable it is.

I got a nightly a few days ago and I’ve been trying to follow instructions to install OpenJDK such as https://www.haiku-os.org/community/forum/apps_i_use_haiku_openjdk or http://openstatic.org/haiku/. All the instructions I’ve found include copying/extracting the files to a location that is read only.

So, total noob question, how do I get OpenJDK installed and working? How do we get that into Haiku Depot to make life easier for other noobs?

You start by reading Humdinger’s article:
https://www.haiku-os.org/guides/daily-tasks/install-applications

Followed by mmadia’s article:

Certainly there are people working on the transition, in various ways. I have been quietly picking up some low-hanging fruit myself:

http://mysite.mweb.co.za/residents/clasqm/haiku/repackaged-apps/index.html

but a really big, complex package like OpenJDK is way above my pay grade, sorry. You’d need to know what you were doing. If you know your way around Java then creating .hpkg files should be child’s play. It really is just marginally more complex than making a zip file from the command line.

hrev 46965 x86 and x86-gcc2 - not work.

Openjava work - hrev 46642 x86

http://www.fayloobmennik.net/3349326 - JRE+muCommander+TFO4 hpkg

hrev 46642 x86 - the best choice for the user

HaikuOS - the only operating system installed on my home laptop.

Thanks both for the information. I forgot to mention about those guides, I tried them as well!

It looks like I was doing it right, but there’s an issue with the most recent nightly. Any idea what might be causing this issue and how it can be resolved?

I couldn’t download the hpkg you linked, the download link on that page points towards another location that does not exist.

[quote=CyberneticianDave]Thanks both for the information. I forgot to mention about those guides, I tried them as well!