Hello everyone

Hello fellow users :slight_smile:

I am quite new to the Haiku community, although I have tested/kept an eye on it for quite a while now.
I am so glad that Haiku is finally ready to be used as a fully capable daily driver (at least for average, eveyday tasks).
I am really thankful to all the developers who are working on this project and making all of this possible :hugs:

Being mainly a Linux user for years, haiku is such a refreshment for me, something I’ve been looking for all of this time lol
A calm, user-friendly and peaceful environment without all of those forceful updates, notifications,useless bells and whistless, colors and unnecessairy GUI elements that only distract you and/or are frustrating.

Pretty much all I need for my day to day tasks is there already, but I have only one suggestin/request.
I hope that someone will be able to help me with that, or make it possible.
Paint Tool Sai is a program that i use for digital art and I was able to run it on Linux using WINE (as it is a software developed for Windows).

So, my question is … is there any possibility to port Sai from Windows, or at least make WINE work on Haiku at some point?

Thank you
Uros

5 Likes

Welcome there! :slight_smile:
As for WINE, no one has been able (afaik) to build it on Haiku, as for Sai, looking at repology I can’t find a package there, so probably no sources available?

1 Like

Thanks for the reply :slight_smile:
It is commercial software, so that’s probably why (It is a Japanese company btw, Systemax Software).
It is a one-man project and he has been focusing on Windows for years … I will try suggesting him getting in touch with some Haiku developers (hopefully).
He has been very responsive so far, so I hope we’ll be able to make a ‘‘first move’’ towards possibly introducing Sai to Haiku.