Haiku - Question

Hello there I found this page by accident while trying to find a good desktop OS, easy to use and fast. I’ve used BeOS in the past it met my every need… at the time. From what I understood by browsing Haiku’s website, Haiku is what was known as OpenBeOS someone told me that this system was UNIX based.
Here’s the thing I want to ask, I’m not a programmer so I appoligise for my ignorance, how will Haiku relate with native YellowTAB based applications or won’t that be a problem?

I think that we all love BeOS the only reasons to why I can’t have it installed in my computer are two, hardware compability and internet sharing abilities. Besides that I still question myself if i should or not permantly change my OS choice, I can see the efort to recreate a better BeOS but I don’t the software support so necessary for any operating system to stay alive.

haiku is not unix based

See above-- Haiku is not based on Unix anymore than BeOS was except for the fact that (well, I think) that Haiku will exhibit some POSIX compliance.

As far as application support goes, I can see where you’re coming from. A lot of the software around for BeOS is either second rate, or unfinished but there is a lot of good software around for it. I’ll wager that once Haiku is mature there’ll be a lot of people realising what a good OS it is and the 1st rate software will flow… :slight_smile: I mean you can even get your GeForce FX 5600 working on it. For a cough dead cough system (read: sarcasm) that’s something!

Yellowtab, as far as I’m aware is just BeOS so presumably Haiku’s binary compatibility with BeOS means all the YellowTAB apps will work.