Haiku on an Optiplex 745

Greetings, i do hope that posts like these are allowed as being part of the general feedback or status of
Haiku when running it on actual hardware.

I have been monitoring haiku for a few years now, and never truly ran it in actual hardware out of safety concerns in terms of data loss or the possibility of having damaged partitions. A few days ago I installed Haiku on actual hardware as i am trusting it just enough to do so. And i do fully understand that Haiku is highly unfinished and is not ready for day to day, safe, desktop use.

The host hardware is a Dell Optiplex 745, with an MSI Geforce GT 710, 3 gigabytes of ram, and an old Intel Core 2 6400 CPU running at 2.13GHz. The screen is a generic full HD screen connected trough HDMI.

1: Installation

I downloaded a 64bit Nightly build and used DD on linux to write it to an USB 2.0 stick. Afterwards i booted Haiku from that USB stick to end up on a fully functional Haiku using the Vesa driver. I ran the installer and installed Haiku to the third partition of the second Sata HDD in my machine.

2: Chainbooting haiku trough grub

I use grub as my bootloader because i have many systems installed on this machine. Making grub chainload the haiku bootloader can be done by manually editing your grub.cfg which does not safeguard it from removing the haiku entry once grub gets updated, or by creating an extra grub configuration file which gets loaded into the main grub file.

#haiku OS
menuentry “Haiku” {
set root=(hd1,3)
chainloader +1
}

The root HDD in this case was hd1 (which is the second HDD) with partition 3.

3: Running haiku