Haiku native bitcoin application?

A preliminary search gave this http://vbeosa.blogspot.fr/

How much interest in bitcoin is there among Haiku users?

To be clear, I’m yet to do any programming on Haiku and lack the skill and knowledge to tackle a project like bitcoin - what I linked to above is someone else’s blog. Just to underscore that, to date, I have no first hand experience with bitcoin at all. I’m still at the point of trying to understand how it works.

One particular unresolved question is: Why do bitcoin users trust that their private keys are safe? What is stopping malicious software from sending that information (along with key-logged pass phrases) to a thief? That malicious software could be anything from the wallet application to any other part of their OS or other installed software.

The only satisfactory solution I can think of would be an offline wallet application that can generate a valid key pair and accept incoming transactions being ‘ferried’ to it via a flash drive or some-such, shared with an online counterpart this is only aware of the user’s bitcoin address and never has access to the private key. It would also have to be able to generate outgoing transactions for the user to again ‘ferry’ over to an online counterpart to send to the bitcoin network. Ideally, this offline wallet application would run on a secondary computer that is never connected to the internet…

I’m very interested and have been passively researching it. Sounds like you are doing the main two BitCoin wallets. There were two others I liked. They’re not as well known but seemed more flexible.

@hello I appreciate the enthusiasm but you do realise that the bitcoin mining mantle has long passed from cpu to gpu and on to asic, right? The only thing a user’s OS choice effects is the security of their private key(s). On that topic… Both thumbs up to all the people that jumped in to help ensure that OpenBSD’s bills are paid.