Hacked off with container OSeses

So I work with containers day in and day out. The apps are fun, the container definition, creation, and security not so much.

I’ve been looking at container base images and am struck by both the bloat and the inability to be able to prove a lot of the time what the license and exact git traceable versions of things that are deployed are.

It’s also amusing to see people think that a layered file system is a new thing!

I know it cannot happen as containerd and the linux kernel implementation of containerisation is the core enabling tech, but I wish oh wish I could grab something like Haiku that was very small, just load the packages I needed, and use that as a base image without all the upstream faff of alpine vs distroless vs everything else.

So what do we think… Haiku base image for Kubernetes anyone??? Who is with me!?!

Only half joking… It would make messing around with Base OS images fun at least if it were Haiku.

I have no experience with containerization, but isnt it simply some made-up bs to cover the fact that the developers cannot devops and vice-versa, and shared linking is too hard, and basically most people lazy and/or incompetent or simply careless in the CS (not just nowadays, but basically ever)?

If so, why should Haiku take part in ot and why shouldnt Haiku simply eliminate all legacy/deprecated way of thinking and reform the living sht from the industry to shake up the people in it?

2 Likes

Haha! :rofl:

To be fair, I’m not entirely sure how process isolation is implemented in Haiku’s kernel right now. You may find the same basic concepts exist and all this containerd mumbojumbo isn’t required… An interesting thought…

Containerization is more than just isolating the processes or for use in fancy “webby setups” though.