[GSoC 2024] Improving the Tracker Query Window

Heyyy! My name is Calisto Mathias. I’m a First Year Undergraduate student pursuing my Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech) in Information Technology from The National Institute of Technology, Surathkal. In this post, I’d like to discuss about my GSoC proposal idea for the year 2024, take in suggestions on what I could do better, and get to know the community better :slight_smile: Open Source contribution has always blown me away but I’m passionate about it and would really like to contribute into something that I could make a difference - in this case - that’s Haiku :smile: I can’t wait to hear back from all of the community. I have been active for some time now on the IRC channel as well so I would love to get to know and communicate more through that medium as well. Btw, it’s my first time doing Open Source too :melting_face:

The Tracker Query window is like a door to Haiku’s power, but right now, its look and feel in the Find Window are a bit confusing. It’s not so easy to use, especially with all the going back and forth to make searches better. This might discourage people who aren’t tech-savvy. My main plan for GSoC 2024 is to make the Tracker Query window more user-friendly. That’s the core of my GSoC 2024 proposal! :star2:

In the past, there have been many attempts and ideas that have been raised but never really looked into. Two of the most significant ones form a very solid foundational base for a reworking of the window itself. I’m thinking of taking on this challenge as part of my project while also fixing along new bugs that pop up along the way as well as ones that already exist in the application. Some of the changes that I propose are (with reference to Humdinger’s previous ideas) :

1. Reworking the UI to allow for a favorites menu bar where users can have a few templates stored. Clicking on these would load up the template immediately and reduce their work in filling up the fields and drop-down menus.