Glass Elevator, Idea #1: Extensions based UI

(x-posted to the Glass Elevator mailing list)

Hi, I’m new to the Haiku project. I’m an old school fan of BeOS, and I’m really excited about the Haiku project. I’m not enough of a hacker to really jump in at this point, but what I’m hoping is to get involved with R2 once R1 has been completed. I’d really like to see Haiku do amazing things in terms of performance and user interface, and it’d be great to see a user-friendly open source desktop oriented operating system.

One thing I’d like to see is a very minimalistic default user interface, which allows for extensions to customize the look and feel. This draws influence from Firefox, but also from Google and Apple’s approach to aesthetics and UI.

What Google and Apple (especially with the iPod) have taught us is that it’s important to do a few things really well, instead of being able to do a hundred things half-way. Firefox takes this idea, but adds the idea that the user can install their own extensions which allow as much customization and complexity as the user wants.

So why not take this perspective when it comes to the UI for Haiku/R2? When you have a fresh install, the UI is very minimalistic. You have the very basics necessary to function as a desktop operating system: Windows, icons, menus, and pointing devices. But what’s built in is a good extensions architecture so that any aspect of the UI can be manipulated with extensions.

This way, power users could customize their experience as much as Linux can be customized, while the novice users are still presented with a simple, easy to use interface. Couple this with a really slick extensions manager, and an easy and accessible website for Haiku extensions.

This also frees the Haiku developers from having to code many features themselves, the expanded features can be available as extensions, whereas the Haiku UI developers really only need to focus on the bare minimum features and the extensions architecture.