GHC haskell compiler

has anybody managed to get a port of the glasgow haskell compiler for Beos/haiku done?

im a keen haskell developer and would love to develop some applications, ive had a few goes at it myself but ive had trouble with GCC.

orion77 wrote:
has anybody managed to get a port of the glasgow haskell compiler for Beos/haiku done?

im a keen haskell developer and would love to develop some applications, ive had a few goes at it myself but ive had trouble with GCC.

I’ve tried to do this. At that time I wanted to get darcs working on BeOS to host Haiku (well, would’ve probably been too slow, but I wanted to test it), but since I failed we switched to Subversion (which was the better choice, anyway). :wink:
Really, I’ve never seen something that is so extremely difficult to port. Scripts all over the place. Perl for native compiling…WTF?

Sorry. Maybe some of my work is still in their repository (e.g.: area allocation code instead of mmap, etc.). Maybe you want to have a look at porting it? I could still need darcs. :slight_smile:

i will try my best to get it ported over, i actually tried hugs and nhc which gave better results but the lack of documentation with both is a problem. i was hoping one of the latter may make ghc easier to get going.
if im succesful i will let you know :slight_smile:

Has this moved in the last 4 1/2 years ?

Yes - I’ve been using GHC 6.12, and 7.0 release candidate seems to work. It isn’t 100% - don’t have ghci, and the run-time timer signals need to be turned off (RTS -v0) when working with BeOS API threads (BWindow.) Could be more issues, but I can write usable applications. On Haiku r37466 - haven’t tried with later revisions.

The port is ridiculously difficult, just because porting GHC is more or less broken at this point, because so much of GHC is written in Haskell. There aren’t any big Haiku issues with the compiler. The ghci interpreter is a lot more system-specific, but don’t know that it couldn’t be made to work.