Getting Started

Does anyone have or know of a way to help someone who wants to start helping on the DEV side. I am new to all of this. I have been on the iSeries for years (16) (iSeries or AS/400 doing COBOL/RPG/CL) and have been a long time user of BeOS and have starred at Haiku for years hoping to help out and I think it’s time for me to just dive in and help out where I can.

I need to set up a development workstation where I can do the work. Is there a Doc or a easy set up guide to help me get going fast?

Is there someone who could put one together and post it so that I can either use BeOS 5 or Linux to get working and looking at the code to make some contribs.

Thanks,
David

Have a look at: ‘Getting Started’: http://haiku-os.org/node/20
It has pretty much everything you need :slight_smile:

eNGIMa wrote:
Have a look at: 'Getting Started': http://haiku-os.org/node/20 It has pretty much everything you need :)

Thanks I am reading that now. Is there a way i can do this on my Mac? I have been using MacOSX for a while and if there is an easy way to get that running on my Mac I would like it, but I guess I would still need VMWare and such which does not run on MacOSX…yet…

yeh … I’ve tried QEMU on the Mac … but its very slow and proly not worthy of showing off Haiku.

I’m waiting for VMWare to release their Mac version. They’ve announced it’s coming … but that’s all I know.

The other option would be, if you had an Intel based Mac, you could use Parallels. There’s some threads in there where guys have had some success with it.

davidvasta wrote:
eNGIMa wrote:
Have a look at: 'Getting Started': http://haiku-os.org/node/20 It has pretty much everything you need :)

Thanks I am reading that now. Is there a way i can do this on my Mac? I have been using MacOSX for a while and if there is an easy way to get that running on my Mac I would like it, but I guess I would still need VMWare and such which does not run on MacOSX…yet…