Gathering infos about Haiku way

I thought that there are many things in Haiku who are different from Windows and GNU/Linux, so even experienced users have a hard time to get used to Haiku.

I thought about listing them here and perhaps I even manage to turn them in a documentation webpage someday.

[Edit: Maybe call it “Intro to Haiku for experienced computer users”? Other title suggestions?]

Ok, I start:

• You can reverse a kernel update if it doesn’t work.
  • Installing the system copies ALL files, even private ones.
  • The native API is C++ (but you can program a lot of things with other programming languages.)
  • The applications’ names sometimes don’t give a hint of what they are good for. One solution would be searching for a keyword in HaikuDepot.
  • All files and directories are in one file hierarchy but it differs from the Linux and Windows hierarchy.
  • Booting on (U)EFI needs some manual work. This will change I’m sure. (Maybe I can fix that but I’m a slow coder.)
  • BFS has some special features. (Which?)
  • Building from source code requires a special variant of jam (which is there readily in Haiku but has to be installed if cross-compiling from a different system )
  • Installing both the core system and applications is quite simple.
  • You don’t need the X window system if you program something with a GUI (but you can use an emulation layer named xlibe for existing X programs).
  • the GUI (like the whole system) is not distributed over many concurring solutions (in contrast to Linux with its many WMs, DEs etc.)

Edit: Maybe I wasn’t clear enough, so: Feel free to add stuff.

4 Likes

First thing that a new user will encounter in Haiku (assuming they no prior knowledge or experience with BeOS or ZetaOS) is the ALT key with CRTL key switch-a-roo!

There is also Qt, KDE, java, pascal … :slight_smile:
EDIT there are also the available build tools like the autotools, cmake, meson, python, rust … (probably missing a dozen here)