Ecode – lightweight multi-platform code editor

I can’t believe i’m the first one to talk about it here? :slight_smile:
There is just another code editor for Haiku:

16 Likes

I’ve never heard of ecode before. So thanks for sharing this info.

2 Likes

The UI is drawn with SDL, right?

I like VScode, built in debugging would be nice, and I am a newb so, it is what it is

ooo, could this be the sublime replacement I’ve been hoping for?

1 Like

Hi there!
I’m the author of ecode. I’m glad that ecode catched the attention of haiku users.
I love Haiku and even have it running on bare metal. I don’t remember how to build packages for Haiku and I don’t have enough time to create the recipe to make it available in HaikuDepot but may be some of you can help with that. Meanwhile is just uploaded a haiku build in a gz file, it should work by just running the “ecode” bash script.
ecode uses OpenGL so the performance on Haiku isn’t ideal, it’s usable and feature-wise it seems that everything is working fine (not perfect, there are a couple of bugs in SDL2 here and there).
I hope you like it.

14 Likes

Thanks for uploading! note, I had to run the following command to get your bash to work (ecode archive extracted to my Desktop):

export LIBRARY_PATH=$LIBRARY_PATH:/boot/home/Desktop/ecode/libs

but when I load a file to try it out it crashes. :frowning:

UPDATE: Hmm… I tried a few more times and it is not crashing any more… odd. Also, I noticed it uses ctrl-key modifier by default (ctrl-c for copy, ctrl-v for paste, ctrl-f for find) and the not the usual ALT-key (alt-v, alt-c, alt-f) in Haiku. I’ll have to try editing the key bindings, but overall, looks very nice! I’ll need to tinker with it a bit more. great job!

2 Likes

Excellent!
Thanks for your feedback. Regarding the crash, I can create a release with the debug symbols so we can track it down with more ease.